International World Wide Web Conference Committee


After the World Wide Web was conceived in 1989 by Tim Berners-Lee at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland, the International World Wide Web Conference Committee (IW3C2) was founded by Joseph Hardin and Robert Cailliau in August 1994 and formally incorporated in May 1996 as a non-profit Association under Swiss law. It is a professional organization which promotes Web research and development.


From its creation in 1994 to the beginning of 2022, the IW3C2, was the organization that managed the WWW Conference series.
In 2018 the conference series was renamed The Web Conference alias TheWebConf.
Since the 2022 edition, ACM/SIGWEB and a new steering committee manage the conference series.

Starting in 2022, the IW3C2 is governed by new by-laws and it is no longer involved in the organization of the TheWebConf.
Its new mission is to manage funds from gifts or donations to grant awards for publications presented during these conferences.

The most important of these awards is the Seoul Test of Time Award funded by the organizers of the WWW2014 conference in Seoul.

Seoul Test of Time Award

The Seoul Test of Time Award is intended to honour a paper published in the WWW conference series, which demonstrated a lasting significant scientific, technical, industrial, or social impact over the years.

The first Seoul Test of Time Award as been granted during the WWW2015 conference in Florence, Italy and the winners were the founders of Google Sergey Brin and Larry Page for their paper "The Anatomy of a Large-Scale Hypertextual Web Search Engine" presented at the WWW7 conference in April 1998 in Brisbane, Australia.

Brin and Page Award

Here is the list of all Seoul Test of Time Award (updated May 13, 2024).


Here is the list of present and past IW3C2 members and the list of Executive Board members.

Next The ACM Web Conference

The 2024 edition in the series The 2024 ACM Web Conference, May 13 - 17, 2024 in Singapore is now over.

The next edition in the series will be The 2025 ACM Web Conference, May 13 - 17, 2024 in Sydney, Australia.

The following edition is not yet announced.


An archive of the previous IW3C2 website is available.

An archive of all the websites of past WWW conferences until 2022 is also available.

Please note that these are only archives and that some links may be broken.